wholezome

a healthy journey

THE DAY RHUBARB MET POMEGRANATE THERE WAS MAGIC – lemonade & popsicles

Leave a comment

When I was little I used to be scared when walking past the jungle of rhubarb growing in our garden. I have, since childhood, had a very silly but non the less genuine phobia of frogs. I know this might sound stupid but I’ve always been convinced that there would be a large coloni of frogs living underneath the large rhubarb leaves, waiting to jump at me as soon as they would get the chance.

Armed with a knife I ventured out into the garden yesterday and quickly cut the largest stem I could find and ran off as fast as I could. Victory was going to taste sweet and refreshing.

20120616-225042.jpg

The same morning I had made a little healthy shopping trip into town, there is a pretty good health store chain in Sweden called Life and I go there to top up my spirulina stash every time I’m home. At the checkout the cashier convinced me to try their new non sweetened and no preservatives added pomegranate juice… A few hours later I’m standing in my moms kitchen with my giant rhubarb in one hand and the little carton of pomegranate juice on the counter. This is what I did..

The rhubarb got chopped into small pieces and put to simmer in two liters of water together with 3 heaped tablespoons of honey. When the water was reduced to half I poured in the pomegranate liquid and simmered for another 15 min. The flavors of the sweet rhubarb mixed with the tangy pomegranate was a surprisingly well made match. The lemonade was afterwards placed in the fridge to cool.

20120616-225147.jpg

But this isn’t all. After I’ve later enjoyed a beautiful tasting glass of my super quick lemonade a new idea came to mind. Inspired by this recipe I started to look for the ice Popsicle molds we had as kids but without any luck. A few small plastic cups had to do and together with BBQ skewers my refreshing desert was on its way.

In the evening I was happily slurping away – Ice popsicle taste just as good when you are 29 as when you where 9…

20120616-225350.jpg

20120616-230037.jpg

Pomegranates have very high content of punicalagins, a potent anti-oxidant component found to have superior health benefits. They are also a good source of vitamin B (riboflavin, thiamin and niacin), vitamin C, calcium and phosphorus. The combination of these and other minerals in pomegranates cause a powerful synergy that prevents and even reverses some diseases.

A new study has shown that drinking pomegranate juice frequently is extremely beneficial in fighting the hardening of arteries (atherosclerosis). It reduces the oxidation of bad LDL cholesterol which contributes to artery clogging and hardening. Not only does this fruit significantly reduce the blood vessel damage, it is found to actually reverse the progression of this disease.

Another study positively proved that pomegranates contain a powerful agent against cancer, particularly prostate cancer.

Rhubarb is an excellent source of Vitamin C, which is important to help support a healthy immune system. It is high in dietary fiber which helps to maintain regularity within the digestive system and is a good source of calcium which is essential for strong bones and teeth. It is also high in Vitamin K, which is thought to help prevent diabetes.

Author: wholezome

~ Karolina Berglund Chef, Traveller & soon to be Health Coach

Leave a Reply

